Red Nose Hacker

guile

Guile Logo

When I edit Guile code in Emacs, there are some tools relying on the environment to work (i.e. Emacs extensions like Geiser, Flycheck-Guile). Parts of this environment are project specific while others are shared across projects. So I ended up setting manually my environment usually following these few steps:

$ guix shell guile
$ export GUILE_LOAD_PATH="$PWD:$GUILE_LOAD_PATH$
$ emacs some-script.scm

I did turn it into a script I cast as a spell but still, I wanted to go further. And one day…

Lire la suite...

KDE Neon Logo

For a few months, my system systematically asked me for the password of the wifi network.

Thanks to this topic on the KDE forum, I was able to fix the problem with the command sudo pkcon install libkf5wallet-bin.

Such a relief!

Lire la suite...

Guile Logo

Almost one year since I last added a chapter to the book I am writing to help anyone getting started in their Guile journey.

  • Thanks to contributors, I fixed some links and code snippets.
  • I started a new section called “Fix it!” (your feedback about it are welcome!)
  • I added chapters to the app tutorial. Still early, be patient haha
Lire la suite...

Guile Logo

Previously :

My last post was full of errors ! I guess I got lost in the REPL state and faced ghosts, like variables and procedures no more defined… In this post, I give you a new version of the code without errors. You also get a bonus feature : the failing tests are named in the summary. Enjoy !

Lire la suite...

Guile Logo

Previously :

In my last serie about building a testing framework à la xUnit left me with a weird feeling. Following Kent Beck's execution, from the book « Test Driven Development by Example », the exercise of thinking the Scheme way harder than I thought. I ended up with a shaky copy of the Python implementation. So I decided to let time passing by and come back to it to see what I can do differently. In the meantime, I watched a video of Andy Balaam where he showed a small illustration of the idea of Lambda Calculus and how it can be leveraged using a Scheme. That inspired me. Let's see how much, step by step…

Lire la suite...

Guile Logo

Previously :

The next item on the todo list: Run multiple tests. As we have written four tests since the beginning of this serie, speaking about suite is going to be handy.

Lire la suite...

Guile Logo

Previously :

The next item on the todo list: Report failed tests. The last chapter let the state of the test suite in a shaky state. Indeed, the last one is still red! According to Kent Beck, the following chapter is like going one step deeper to deal with a more specific – smaller grained – as he said. To ensure our learning base (the tests) is rock solid!

Lire la suite...

Guile Logo

Previously :

The next item on the todo list: Report collected results. So we are going to implement a reporting feature.

Lire la suite...

Guile Logo

Previously :

The next item on the todo list is Invoke tearDown afterward. But before doing this one, Kent wanted to take care of the order in which the procedures are called. This brings a new item : Log strings in WasRun.

So in this chapter we are going to implement a small logging system then the tearDown test fixture.

Lire la suite...

Guix logo

Have you ever wanted to hack on a free software project with a fellow hacker sitting next to you ? I did. But suddenly, I could not !

So I look for solutions to do remote pair-programming. I wanted to work on Guile projects, within Emacs, using Git, Autotools, etc. Do you know how many solutions are out there providing such environment to collectively hack in ? I've found none.

So I've made one with Guix.

Read more...